Things You Should Know About Me if We’re Going to be BFFs

Thanks to Little Miss Momma for the post inspiration!

  • I’m from a big, bustling, blended family. My parents split when I was young, so along with my two biological siblings, I also have 3 stepsisters and a stepbrother on my dad’s side, and my mom is remarrying soon to a great man who has 2 daughters and a son – so factoring them in, I technically have 9 sort-of siblings.
  • I love spreadsheets.
  • Related to that, I have a home management binder that organizes everything we need to keep our house running smoothly – it’s full of meal plans, recipes, to do lists, hostess sheets (which list house guests we’ve had and any dietary restrictions they have, as well as meals we’ve served when they’re here so we don’t serve the same thing twice), an address book, budget sheets, a cleaning schedule/checklist, exercise schedule, a listing of our current clothing sizes, and a miscellaneous lists section that includes lists of books we want to read, movies we want to see, etc. It’s probably excessive to most people, but it’s one of my favourite things.
  • I still don’t have my full driver’s license, even though I’m almost 26. I’m terrified of highways.
  • Husband and I first said I love you (and meant it) after only 2 weeks. We moved in together after just under 6 months.
  • I’ve lived abroad twice, once short-term (3.5 months) in China when I was 18, and once a bit longer term (a year) in Sweden when I was 21.
  • I’m a very structured and organized person and I love to plan things (I’m an event planner!) but I have a strong spontaneous streak.
  • I love pretty cookbooks.
  • I almost never wear pants. Even through the harsh Canadian winters, I wear dresses about 98% of the time.
  • I’m a very picky eater and I hate it. If there’s one thing I could change about myself, it would be that.
  • I don’t drink alcohol, but I would like to learn to appreciate wine.
  • I also don’t drink caffeine (often).
  • I wear sunscreen 365 days of the year.
  • I am very busty – my bra size is a 32K. Not all it’s cracked up to be.
  • I’m afraid of barges.
  • I can’t stand the sound of vacuum cleaners.
  • I’m not a strong swimmer at all.
  • My undergrad is in political science, and my primary interest area is food politics.
  • Besides one short-lived and not very serious relationship in high school, I didn’t really date at all until I was 21.
  • I have coarse, dry, frizzy hair, and I’m absolutely useless at styling it. It’s usually in a bun or a ponytail. I also have a pretty awesome cowlick right at the front.
  • I read mostly non-fiction.
  • I really want to learn how to knit and sew but I haven’t mastered either yet.
  • I read a lot of Mormon housewife blogs, despite being totally non-religious myself.
  • I’m a pretty positive, happy person the vast majority of the time. I get drained very easily being around negative people so I avoid it at all costs.
  • I hate horror movies and I can’t understand the appeal of them.
  • I cry very easily (sappy commercials, slightly sad news stories, inspirational videos, etc) but I didn’t cry at all on my wedding day. My husband, on the other hand, who never cries unless someone has died, cried 3 times.
  • I didn’t enjoy living in the city at all, and I’m much happier in the country, but I do miss the opportunity to meet interesting professional young adults easily. Finding people our age out here whose hobbies don’t consist exclusively of hunting and drinking Bud Light, and who don’t already have 4 kids, is really difficult.
  • Husband and I have the two most adorable cats in the world.

That’s a pretty comprehensive start. I’m sure there’s more I could come up with, but this is already getting a little excessive, so I’m going to stop while I’m ahead.

Leave a Reply

