Thankful.

Given that it’s Thanksgiving Day, I figure now is as good a time as any to express some gratitude for some pretty wonderful things I’ve got going on in my life.

1. First and foremost, my wonderful, wonderful husband. I came home early from work today because I was feeling quite under the weather. Sore throat, stuffy nose, bad news. He took me out for some fresh air, and then made a big steaming pot of homemade, super-spicy cheddar ale soup. The warm soup eased my throat, and the spices cleared out my sinuses. This is just one small example of how much happiness he brings to my life every single day. Other things that make him wonderful? He’s drop-dead sexy, a fantastic cook, funny and goofy, fiercely intelligent, passionate about the world around him and learning everything he can about it, a hardcore animal lover, hardworking, creative, supportive and encouraging, and he gives me a back rub before bed every. single. night to ease the symptoms of my central nervous system disorder and help me sleep. He is my partner, my best friend, and my biggest cheerleader, and I’m so lucky to have him.

2. The rest of my family, both by blood and by law. I was born into a pretty awesome family. They are fun, supportive, loving, wonderful people, and I consider myself so lucky to have such close relationships with my extended and immediate family (although it did make for a large guest list at our wedding!) I consider myself doubly-lucky to have married into another wonderful family. I have great in-laws who have always welcomed me as part of their family, and an awesome brother-in-law too.

3. My health. It may seem odd to say I’m grateful for my health when I have a chronic illness, but considering I’ve had a lot of tentative diagnoses over the years that were a lot worse than what I ultimately ended up having, I can say I’m grateful that the illness I do have, while it does impact my daily life, does not impact my life expectancy, nor does it impact my ability to have children or care for myself. I’m also grateful for the amazing primary care team that I have, who have been wonderful.

4. Misc. I’m also thankful for a myriad of other little and big things that make my life pretty fantastic. Our cute apartment that provides us with a warm and comfortable home. Our 2 adorable cats who provide us with endless cuddles and amusement. Food on the table and the basic skills required to cook it. A quiet lifestyle, fresh air, and good friends.

Life is good.

Leave a Reply

